“Aquatic Fitness” Shopping

on

I’ve had the same workout swimsuit since XC camp week of my freshman year of college (when we were told, just hours before our first aquajog practice that we all need one pieces). The suit still fits, but it’s incredibly baggy and worn out. So I guess it’s that lovely time again… swim suit shopping.

Here’s a confession: I have no idea how to go about finding the right size swimsuit (to clarify: I’m not talkin’ a cutesy bikini for laying out, I mean “I’m gonna go swim laps” type of swimsuit) And as a runner, I didn’t realize there are so many different types of swimsuit options out there, but I think the type I’m looking for can be classified as an “aquatic fitness” suit. (Ha, I don’t know why that sounds funny to me.)

As of right now, my game plan is to wander through the swimwear section of a sports store, grab a few that look cool, awkwardly hold them up to my torso and see if they might be long/short enough. Then comes the changing room experience. 1. trying on swimsuits in florescent lighting is never flattering anyways 2. is the suit suppose to cut up THAT high?! 3. why is there so much extra fabric in the front?

Well, I’m going to have to suck it up and go shopping.

Above all, I’m excited to get back into the pool again!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ally says:

    Dude, swimsuit shopping sucks, no matter what. I have a one piece that I used for a tri, but, it was totally girly and NOT like a hardcore swimmer suit. I stood out. Hey, I was just glad to finish, I didn’t care if my suit was not going to make me faster!

  2. Pearl says:

    I love swimming in my triathlon shorts; I don’t think I’ll ever buy another regular swim suit. There is an actual swim suit store in Boulder on Pearl (I can hunt for it if you’re curious) that has competition suits etc..

    1. e410 says:

      I just googled around and I think I found it: http://www.highpointswim.com/. Good call, Pearl, thanks!

Leave a comment